Radyr Cricket Club


1890 Radyr CC founded; play on Rectory Field

1893 Garth CC founded; play on Ty Nant ground

1900 Henry Grover joins and takes over captaincy (until 1910)

1900 Radyr CC’s first fixture card published

1908 Radyr CC’s new ground at Riverside opened

1928 Merger of Radyr CC and Garth CC

1951 Motion passed at Special General Meeting allowing non-residents to play  for Radyr CC

1970 Merger of Radyr CC and Royal Overseas League CC

1973 Clubhouse burns down whilst players on tour in Oxfordshire

1974 Radyr Athletic Club founded, bringing together Radyr CC and Cardiff Corinthians AFC

1975 New pavilion opened

1976 Radyr CC plays league cricket: 1st and 2nd XI (Glamorgan Alliance League)

1978 Radyr CC joins Welsh Conference League

1990 Radyr CC celebrates centenary

1991 Radyr CC 1st XI reaches zonal semi-final of Welsh Cup

1992 Radyr CC 1st XI wins 1st Division of Welsh Conference League

1993 Radyr CC joins South Wales Alliance League

1993 Radyr CC 3rd XI is formed and plays league cricket

1998 Second ground opened

2000 Radyr CC joins Glamorgan and Monmouthshire Cricket League

2010 Awarded ‘Clubmark’ status by England and Wales Cricket Board

2010 Radyr CC 4th XI is formed and plays league cricket

2012 Opening of new outdoor, all-weather net complex

2013 Radyr CC Sunday XI enters league cricket

2015 Radyr CC celebrates 125 years